Posted by: hoz49 | February 5, 2008

My Bucket List

That movie got me thinking about my “Bucket List”. I have done most of the outdoor things I want or am able to do.

I’d like to revisit the Cirque of the Towers in Wyoming.

Cirque of the Towers

The Cirque is a remote climbing area surrounded by 12-13,ooo ft peaks. A very scenic spot. In the 70’s I made several annual trips to climb there, eventually summiting all but Wolfs Head, the crenelated peak in shadow at the center of the picture. A summer storm with thunder, lightning and icy rain came through and coatedthe rock with verglas. My climbing partner Fishman and I both agreed to turn back100ft from the summit.
I’d also like paddling another northern wilderness river. The Nahanni comes to mind, if I could get the money, otherwise the Missinaibi from head to tail in one 30 day sitting.

My wife Fe and I are as close as can be. And we are going to spend some time in the Philippines soon so I guess I got that covered.

But mostly I’d like to spend some time with my kids, who are grown and on their own now. My son  lives here and we talk almost every day. But my daughters are 300 miles away. Their Mom and I were divorced when they were young and she moved away. I didn’t keep close contact and of course feel guilty about that. We have been taking small steps together, my youngest daughter  married last summer and I was there to give her away. My middle daughter  is engaged to marry this summer and if all goes well I will be there also. But it’s the day to day I missed. If I were going to die in a few months I’d go to St Louis for a while to do some “catch up”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

