Posted by: hoz49 | February 6, 2008

Packing for the Philippines

How do you pack for an extended trip? What you plan to wear on the plane, 2 pair of underwear and all the socks you can carry? I’m afraid we are traveling heavy again. Filipinos can’t go back home without a couple suitcases of gifts. My wife is no exception. Sometimes I think my entire purpose on a trip is to schlep the baggage from terminal to terminal. How did the old Rolling Stones song go? “I’ll never be, your Beast of Burden”. Well that doesn’t apply when you’re married to a Filipina.

A Redcap once asked me, “What is it all you Filipinos take back with you, BOWLING BALLS?”

I could probably get by with just a carry on. In fact, that’s about all the room I have. The rest of our baggage allotment is “pasabulong”. (Pasabulong are gifts and supplies you take back for the relatives.)

We leave Sunday, oh my aching back!

Leave a Reply

Categories

