Posted by: hoz49 | February 7, 2008

Kayaking the Philippines

The wonder of the net has put me in touch with the Bohol Kayaking Club. Theodore Dumaluan (Doyet) replied to my inquiry about paddling in the Philippines and invited me to paddle with the club the end of this month.

They are planning a channel crossing from Bohol to an offshore island. A distance of 7-8 miles. The sun is shining and it’s almost 90 degrees there. YOWSA!
Everyone who knows me knows I ‘d rather be paddling a canoe with the single blade but given the circumstances I will take what I can get.

As an added attraction I will have to catch a ferry from Cebu City to Bohol first, then hookup with Doyet and the club. The ferry ride takes an hour and a half on the hydroplane Fast Cat and costs 425 pesos each way. (about $11. US)

A real Philippine adventure! I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

Categories

