Posted by: hoz49 | February 22, 2008

In Tagbilaran, Bohol, Philippines

I am currently in Tagbilaran on Bohol. Going to meet a local Dr who builds kayaks (I build canoes at home) and we are going kayaking tomorrow.

Yesterday we did the Chocolate Hills Tour and had a great day. My SIL met a couple on the FastJet who recommended a tour guide. They made a call and he was waiting for us at the pier when we landed. The touts and drivers were thick but we luckily had that covered.

Mike the driver had a nice cool A/C van that held all 6 of us comfortably. We headed for the Choc Hills, stopping at an old Jesuit Church on the way. Local kids were practicing for a show on the stage outside. It was fun watching them dancing to “Puttin on the Ritz”.

It is a long drive through the real Philippine countryside to get to CH Complex. We saw rice paddies with people working them, lots of rice being dried in the roadsides, passed through several small villages. All natural and I was in heaven. I remember asking my SIL where all the trees are when I first visited Cebu, PH well, they are still in Bohol!

I am not going into a blow by blow description right now. But it was a jam packed afternoon that included the River Tour and Buffet with some dynamite entertainment, a viewing of the worlds smallest monkeys, the Tarsiers, a short drive through the “Man made” Forest, and even a viewing and I got to pet the worlds largest Python in Bohol captivity which included an unanticipated show by a Baklat (gay) Lip sync dancer who performed “A Hero Lies in You” while hanging from the rafters on a homemade stage in the jungle!

MAN, I laughed until I cried!

I can’t remember when I have had so much fun.

Right now I am in a pay by the minute net cafe and the clock is running, as will I…

hoz

Leave a Reply

Categories

