Posted by: hoz49 | March 4, 2008

Construction, Filipino style

After viewing this magnificent landscape of the Chocolate Hills we descended to the Complex and Fe did some souvenir looking while I wandered around. Off to one side I found a crew of construction workers building a block addition. The men were friendly and allowed me to take a few pictures of them at work. I worked in construction in the US and am always interested in how they do things over here. It amazes me what Filipinos get done with such limited tools, equipment and gear.

img_0268.jpg

Mixing mortar on the deck.

img_0269.jpg

Cutting rebar, foot vice and hacksaw.

img_0271.jpg

Bending rebar with a hammer, board and 2 steel pins.

As I asked to take this last picture I said, “Let me get one more shot” to which they all started shouting, “Tanduay! Tanduay! He buy us a shot of Tanduay! Tanduay is the local rum and costs about 2 US bucks a bottle. If I had brought some with me we surely would have taken off for the day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

